Ways to honour a loss

Source Pinterest

As what should have been my baby’s due date creeps ever closer I feel what can only be described as a wave of anxious anticipation and panic. There will be no baby but, dispite this time will pass. The 22nd June 2017 will come and I, along with my partner will have to greet it.

I don’t know what to do. We have both, for a myriad of complicated reasons kept our loss mostly to ourselves, so this is just something we have to work through together without the support of our families. But that is a post for another day.

I don’t know what I will do on the 22nd. Do I celebrate? What is there to celebrate? Do we mourn?

Both?

How do we do whatever it is we decide to do?

So of course out came Google, I have posted a couple of links on this topic already, but I thought I would publish the list I have put together. If you feel I have missed something then please tell me in the comments.

  • A balloon release 
  • A lantern release 
  • Light a candle
  • Keep a journal
  • Plant a tree
  • Create a garden
  • Start a Blog
  • Make a pinterest board. Mine are here and here.
  • Get a tattoo 
  • Draw their name in the sand, or with chalk
  • Make their name out of things such as pebbles and photograph it.
  • Make a memory box
  • Make a photo album
  • Make a charitable donation 
  • Participate in a March of Dimes walk (In America) 
  • Go to a Saying Goodbye service (England)
  • Name a Star after them
  • Start a charity 
  • Order memorial jewelery here (our shop) or get creative and do it yourself
  • Write a letter to them
  • Collect things that remind you of them, perhaps a certain colour.
  • Make an ornament, perhaps for the living room, or a Christmas tree if it’s that time of year.
  • Make a memory quilt out of old clothes, or just with their name on.
  • A lot of people like angel keepsakes, because of the term ‘Angel Babies’, and heavenly connotations.
  • #Capture your Grief

Source Pinterest.

Love and Support always,
Surviving Miscarriage Together x 

Leave a Reply

